Institute for Diversity Studies in Engineering (IDS)

The Institute of Diversity Studies in Engineering (IDS), founded in 2009, is headed by Prof. Dr. Meike Tilebein and has its main research focus on the effects and design possibilities of diversity in complex socio-technical systems.

At the core of research and teaching at the IDS is the question of how differences and diversity in socio-technical systems can contribute to innovation under the conditions of digital transformation.

We address this question with an interdisciplinary team in a broad application context, ranging from individualized products and services through diversity management in teams and organizations to collaboration across organizational and industry boundaries.

Research and teaching at the IDS are therefore closely linked to the work in the field of Industry 4.0 at the Center for Management Research of the German Institutes of Textile and Fiber Research Denkendorf (DITF), which, like the IDS, is headed by Prof. Dr. Meike Tilebein.

Meike Tilebein
Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Dipl.-Ing.

Meike Tilebein

Director of Institute

To the top of the page

Institut für Diversity Studies in den Ingenieurwissenschaften (IDS)

Das Institut für Diversity Studies in den Ingenieurwissenschaften (IDS), gegründet 2009 unter der Leitung von Frau Prof. Dr. Meike Tilebein, befasst sich mit den Wirkungen und Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten von Diversität in komplexen sozio-technischen Systemen.

Im Zentrum von Forschung und Lehre am IDS steht die Frage, wie unter den Rahmenbedingungen der digitalen Transformation Vielfalt und Unterschiede in sozio-technischen Systemen zu Innovation beitragen können.

Dieser Frage gehen wir mit einem interdisziplinären Team in einem breiten Anwendungskontext nach, der von individualisierten Produkten und Services über Diversity Management in Teams und Organisationen bis hin zur Zusammenarbeit über Organisations- und Branchengrenzen reicht.

Forschung und Lehre am IDS sind daher eng verbunden mit den Arbeiten im Themenfeld Industrie 4.0 am Zentrum für Management Research der Deutschen Institute für Textil- und Faserforschung Denkendorf, das wie das IDS von Frau Prof. Dr. Meike Tilebein geleitet wird.

Meike Tilebein
Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Dipl.-Ing.

Meike Tilebein

Institutsleiterin

Zum Seitenanfang